Election Results LIVE updates: Congress single largest in MP, wins Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh

Assembly elections 2018 results Live Updates: Results for the assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram come as a big setback for Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Bharatiya Janata Party. The Congress unseated the BJP from power in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh and a neck-and-neck fight is on in Madhya Pradesh, even 16 hours after counting of votes started. Prime Minister Narendra Modi said the BJP accepts the people’s mandate with humility, while Congress president Rahul Gandhi thanked the people for the party’s impressive victory. For the BJP and the Congress, the outcome in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh was more or less clear by noon. However, the fight in Madhya Pradesh has continued even after midnight. The Congress wrote to the Governor and sought time to stake claim to forming government, but the request was turned down as the Governor said a decision can be taken only after results for all seats are declared by the Election Commission. In Telangana, K Chandrashekhar Rao’s TRS won handsomely and will retain power, while the Congress was ousted in Mizoram by the Mizo National Front. Stay tuned with IndiaToday.in for latest updates on the election results.

Results out for Madhya Pradesh, Congress the single largest party

The results for Madhya Pradesh assembly are finally declared after 24 hours of counting.

The Congress with 114 seats has emerged as the single largest party, but has missed the majority mark by 2 seats.

The BJP has won 109 seats, BSP 2, Samajwadi Party 1 and others have bagged 4.